top of page
Search
  • Matthew Pendleton

Elemental Squadron Nushenger Development Blog - Update 2

Unfortunately, since the last update, more pressing matters with much closer deadlines happened which left me with not much time to get concrete work done for my project.

However, I have thought further on the boss character of the stage which I can share here.

Since I am basing my boss characters on the 12 Chinese Zodiac, I decided to look into their traits to see if there was any that fit for a boss in this level. I saw that each of the zodiacs have an element associated, similar to the four symbols which the rangers are based on.

Given that the player will play the Red Ranger in this level, who uses the power of the vermilion bird which is a fire element, and the player will be alone for the level I decided to choose a zodiac with an element that fire has an advantage over.

In the five elements, each element has 2 kinds of interactions, a generating or creation cycle and an overcoming or destruction cycle, this means that each element can affect another element in a positive way and a different one in a negative way. Since this is an action game based around combat we would want the interaction of our characters fire element to be destructive against the enemy's element. which according to this diagram would be Metal.


This gives us the option of either a Monkey or a Rooster for the boss of the level. I am still unsure of which one I will go with but at least I have narrowed it down from 12 options to 2.

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page